Six accelerometer centres to be constructed in KTM Valley

Posted on: November 06, 2017 | views: 14116

Accelerometer centres, measuring earthquake, are going to be constructed at six different places of Kathmandu Valley with the Japanese support.

Japan had provided financial support for the construction of 10 accelerometer centres in Kathmandu Valley and 10 GPS stations out of valley after the Gorkha earthquake.

The accelerometer centres are going to be constructed at Sanga, Kapan, Lubhu, Sinamangal, Thankot and Kharipati.  

Seismologist at the National Seismological Centre, Department of Mines and Geology, Mukunda Bhattarai, said that the centres are to be constructed at the quake hard-hit areas.

Similarly, the GPS stations have already been built at Chitwan, Kapilvastu and Syangja district and such centre would be constructed at Rukum, Rolpa and Gulmi this year, according to the Department. 

Accelerometer centre measures large scale earthquake while GPS stations measures both small and large scale earthquakes.