PM Deuba expands cabinet for second time

Posted on: July 27, 2017 | views: 375

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has expanded the Council of Ministers for the second time. 

The new ministerial appointees from Nepali Congress are, Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Yagya Bahadur Thapa ,Minister for Irrigation  Sanjay Gautam, Minister for Agricultural Development Ram Krishna Yadav, Minister for Youth and Sports Rajendra Kumar KC, Minister for Defense Bhimsendas Pradhan, Minister for Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation Ambika Banset, Minister for Information and Communications Mohan Bahadur Basnet, Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport Bir Bahadur Balayar , Minister for commerce Min Bahadur Bishwokarma  and Water Supply and Sanitation Mahendra Yadav. 

Similarly the new ministers from CPN( Maoist-Centre) are Minister for Health  Girirajmani Pokharel , Minister for General Administration Tek Bahadur Basnet , Minister for Supplies Shiva Kumar Mandal , Minister for Energy Mahendra Bahadur Shahi, Minister for Women, Children, and Social Welfare Asha Koirala and Minister for Livestock  Santa Kumar Tharu . Meanwhile from the Nepal Loktantrik Forum the new ministers are Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Jitendra Dev  and Minister for Land Reform and Management Gopal Dahit. Also  Mithila Chaudhary of CPN(United) has been made the Minister of Population and Environment. 

The Prime Minister has kept the portfolios of the Ministry of Industry, the Ministry of Forest, the Ministry of Science and the Ministry of Peace and Reconstruction to himself. 

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly-appointed ministers at a special ceremony held at the Office of the President at Shital Niwas yesterday. Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba was present on the occasion. 

Also present on the occasion were the Chief Justice Gopal Prajuli, Speaker Onsari Gharti, the three Deputy Prime Ministers, ministers, the chiefs of the constitutional bodies, chiefs of the security bodies, lawmakers and the government high officials. 

Of the new ministers, 10 are from the Nepali Congress, six from the CPN (Maoist Centre), two from the Nepal Loktantrik Forum and one from the CPN (United).