Five literary figures decorated with Diamond Jubilee honours

Posted on: June 23, 2017 | views: 147

Five literary figures were conferred the Diamond Jubilee honours in recognition of their exemplary contributions to the Nepali language and literature.

The individuals were feted during a function held on the 60th anniversary of Nepal Academy. 

The honoured individuals include national poet, Madhav Prasad Ghimire, culture scholar Satya Mohan Joshi, Nepal Academy's former Chancellor, Bairagi Kainla, and Nepal Academy's former vice chancellor duo, Madanmani Dixit and Basudev Tripathi.

Academy's Chancellor, Ganga Prasad Upreti, honoured the individuals and hailed their 'huge contribution for the enrichment of Nepali language and literature'. 

Meanwhile, the national poetry festival organised by the Academy has commenced from today. The festival features 32 contestant poets and 20 other poets from across the country.