Election for new PM on June 4

Posted on: June 02, 2017 | views: 267

The election for picking a new Prime Minister is set to hold at 11.00 am at Legislature-Parliament on Sunday. 

Speaker Onsari Gharti set fresh election date following meeting with the leaders of political parties and subsequent discussion with the Parliament Business Advisory Committee today. 

With the expiry of timeline given by the President for forming consensual government, the process has moved ahead to elect a new premier through majority. 

According to the work schedule unveiled by Secretary General of Legislature-Parliament Manohar Prasad Bhattarai at the directive of Speaker Gharti, a notice for registration of candidacy would be issued at 11.00 am on June 3 and a list of candidates for PM would be published at 4.30 pm same day. 

While presenting information of candidates, the names of proposer and supporter should also be made a part. 

Informing that she had published the notice in keeping with the tradition and practice after holding consultations with political parties' leaders, Speaker Gharti expressed her confidence that all political parties would participate and cooperate to the process to elect the new PM. 

UML Chief Whip Bhanu Bhakta Dhakal urged the Legislature-Parliament to advance the process to pick the new Prime Minister when there is parliamentary business. 

Likewise, Nepali Congress leader and Minster Ramesh Lekhak stressed the need to initiate a new process to pick the Prime Minister as per the political need, process and practice.

CPN (Maoist Centre) leader and Deputy Prime Minister Krishna Bahadur Mahara said the opposition can obstruct the House but not put on hold the process to elect the new PM.