Committee proposes 18 ministries in Centre

Posted on: June 01, 2017 | views: 340

The high-level Federal Administrative Restructuring Committee has proposed 18 ministries including the Office of Prime Minister and Council of Ministers at the Centre (federal level).

The proposal presented by the Committee to the State Affairs Committee under the Legislature-Parliament states that such a number of ministries were seen suitable at the centre while analyzing Nepal's constitution, the study report on fundamental rights, work details report, country's situation and other international practices.

Currently, there are the Office of the President, the Office of the Vice President, the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers and 28 ministers in the centre.

The Committee proposed to establish the Office of Prime Minister and Council of Ministers with the fixation of jurisdictions of the Secretariat of Council of Ministers to execute the general directives of governance, and to control and operate the government. 

Coordinator of the Implementation Committee, Kashi Raj Dahal, said that the schedules of the singular and common rights stated in the constitution, the report on work elaboration, the work division regulation and the existing organizational structure as well as the study report on administrative restructuring, the report of the consultants, the suggestions from the ministries concerned, international practices and best practices, and the suggestions of the expert members have been taken as the basis while recommending the names of the ministries and their scope of work.