Second phase of local elections postponed for June 28

Posted on: May 31, 2017 | views: 212

The second round of the local level elections has been postponed for June 28.

The government had earlier decided to hold the local polls on June 23. The Cabinet meeting held at the Prime Minister's official residence at Baluwatar this morning took the decision to postpone the elections by five days.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs, Bhimalendra Nidhi, said the government decided to postpone the election as the final day of the Muslim community's festival, Ramadan, falls on June 23.

EC publishes new election schedule

The Election Commission has published a new election schedule for second round of local-level election.

Today's meeting of the EC published the new election schedule as per government decision of holding the second round of local-level election on June 28. Earlier, the government had decided to hold the second round of election on June 23.

As per the election schedule, candidacy will be filed on June 16, election symbols provided on June 19 and voting conducted from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm on June 28 at 461 local levels of 43 districts including Rukum and Nawalparasi of Province No 1, 2, 5 and 7, stated a press release issued by EC Spokesperson Surya Prasad Sharma.