House forms 11 member Impeachment recommendation Committee

Posted on: October 19, 2016 | views: 116

The Legislature-Parliament has constituted an Impeachment Recommendation Committee, unanimously endorsing a proposal towards that end tabled by Speaker Onsari Gharti.

The members on the committee are Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, Farmullah Mansoor, Deepak Prasad Kuinkel and Kumari Laxmi Rai from the Nepali Congress, and Keshab Badal, Rewati Raman Bhandari, Parbat Gurung and Sushila Nepal from the main opposition party, CPN (UML).

The members on the Committee from the CPN (Maoist Centre) are Ram Narayan Bidari and Amanlal Modi, and Dilnath Giri from the Rastirya Prajatantra Party Nepal.

It is noted that the Committee was formed a day after the lawmakers in the House meeting yesteday  accused Chief of the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA ) Lokman Singh Karki of contempt of court and demanded his removal from the post through impeachment.