Posted on: May 28, 2016 | views: 311

On the occasion of Republic Day today, the State has honoured various individuals with honorary titles, decorations and medals.

According to the Home Ministry, popular leader Madan Kumar Bhandari has been honoured posthumously with the 'Nepal Ratna' title. Likewise, former Prime Minister Sushil Koirala has been awarded posthumously and former Chair of the Constituent Assembly Subas Chandra Nembang with the 'Rastra Gaurav' title.

Likewise, those honoured with the 'Mahaujjawal Kirtimaya Rastradip' title are Surya Bahadur Thapa, Nar Bahadur Karmacharya, Nirmal Lama and Posta Bahadur Bogati (posthumously) and Ramhari Joshi while the title of 'Prasiddha Prabal Janasewashree' has been bestowed upon Dr Yubaraj Khatiwada, Barshaman Pun, Janardan Sharma, Baidyanath Upadhyaya and Bhanu Prasad Acharya, it is stated in a statement issued by the Ministry today.

Likewise, Dr Som Lal Subedi, Rajendra Chettri, Lokdarshan Regmi, Upendra Kant Aryal, Durja Kumar Rai, Dilip Raj Regmi have been honoured with the 'Sukirtimaya Rastradip' title. An announcement was made to decorate 83 individuals with the Suprabal Janasewasri Manapadavi, 135 with the Prabal Janasewasri Manapadavi and 51 with the Janasewasri Manapadavi.

As per Section 5 of Bibhusan Act, 2064, the Natural Disaster Victim Rescue Medal will be conferred on 56,279 individuals for contribution and supporting the commendable work of rescuing and relieving the natural disaster survivors and mitigating the disaster risk.

A total of 25, 122 individuals will be honoured with letters of appreciation for contributing towards successful conclusion of the 18th SAARC Summit. Pilot duo Captain Dinesh Neupane and co-pilot Santosh Rana will be conferred 'Birata Padak' posthumously.