Posted on: October 03, 2017 | views: 578

UML, MC agree electoral alliance, joint team for party unification 

CPN (UML), CPN (Maoist Centre) and Naya Shakti Party have signed 6-point agreement on forming a single Communist party after the elections.

Organizing a press meet today in Kathmandu, top leaders informed that the decision was taken to unify all communists parties into a single communist party in country. The leaders also agreed to form a 8-member high level committee to initiate works for unifying party. The committee comprises of 4 leaders from UML, three from Maoist Centre and 1 from Naya Shakti party.

Similarly, leaders informed that they have forged an electoral alliance for the upcoming elections to the House of Representatives and the State Assemblies scheduled for November 26 and December 7. UML and Maoist centre agreed to have share of 60/40 ratio of candidacy in elections in the constituencies except electoral alliance formed with other political parties.

Addressing the  declaration gathering this evening, UMl chairman Oli said this electoral alliance is not against any political forces, instead it is demand of Nepali people and need of the country. He further said that this agreement helps in taking the country to the path of stability and prosperity.


Similarly, CPN Maoist Centre chairman Prachanda said this unification of three political parties will lead country towards economic prosperity and give a message of development to the world.  He also made it clear this alliance is not targeted against NC party. Leader Prachanda argued that this unity is the historical necessity of Nepal.

Also speaking on the occasion, Naya Shakti Party coordinator Dr. Baburam Bhattarai said this initiation of unity among three communist parties will be historical. 


Leaders of UML , Maoist Centre and Naya Shakti Party meeting held in Lalitpur ended with agreement on forging an electoral alliance and constituting a joint coordination committee for party unification.